RSS Feed

Hello and welcome to another Crafty Love ‘how-to’ blog! This fabulous idea has been contributed by the lovely Sharon at The Old Button, another great Facebook page! You can find The Old Button here:

http://www.facebook.com/TheOldButton?ref=ts

Now you will need some sewing skill to follow this how-to as it is a little more complicated than some of our previous posts! I’m sure you sewing enthusiasts will have a good go at it though!

Don’t forget, if you do attempt any of our Crafty Love ‘how-to’s then I’d love to see a picture of the results so just message me at Crafty Love:

http://www.facebook.com/CraftyLoveUK

Thanks very much….over to Sharon 😉

Draught Excluders by The Old Button

OK, so I know it’s not seasonal as the weather here inSouth Walesis an amazing 20 degrees – unheard of in March! But I really want to share with you my recycled draught excluders. Look at what you can make with some small offcuts of fabrics and old duvets. So get ahead and be ready to beat those winter chills.

While the sample books had loads of gorgeous fabrics, each piece was rather small and they were often different sizes. Initially I wasn’t sure what I could do with them. However, I love patchwork and live in an old draughty house, so it didn’t take long to come up with this idea.

I cut each small piece of fabric into patches that were the same height. I wanted really fat excluders so I went for around 12 inches. I used different widths, both to make sure I made the most out of each piece and to create a varied patchwork look. I also joined very small offcuts and pieces to make the correct height. I sewed the patches together until I got the right length for my doors, making sure I used a generous seam allowance and zigzagged the seams, which was essential as some of these fabrics frayed badly.  I pressed carefully as I went along.

I used a piece of spare upholstery fabric in a toning colour for the backing, placing the patchwork panel on the backing right sides together, and sewing round the two long edges and one short edge.  Again I used a generous seam and zigzagged to neaten. Turning the excluder the right way and pressing carefully to sharpen each seam gave me a long tube ready for stuffing.

Being thrifty, I avoided buying stuffing and looked around the house for something to fill my excluder. I did think about using old tights and cut up fabric offcuts (an old trick from the Second World War when clothes and fabric were rationed).  However, this gives a soft floppy filling and I wanted a full smooth look to go with the sophisticated fabrics I had used.

My first excluder was stuffed with wadding I recycled from a couple of old pillows. I wash my hollow fibre pillows regularly, but they sometimes come out lumpy. I cut open some of the worst culprits and used the freshly washed contents to tightly fill an inner lining bag I sewed from an old sheet and had placed inside the excluder cover.

The open edges were sewed by hand using an invisible ladder stitch and the excluder was ready to go! Result! A great looking draught excluder made at zero cost (ok, cotton and electricity apart) and very environmentally friendly.

Spurred on, I made some more. Having run out of pillows, I turned to a pile of old children’s duvets I had washed and squirreled away in the airing cupboard.  These were great – cut to the correct length and rolled into a sausage. A few big tacking stiches down the length held it together without the need for an inner lining. It was a bit hard feeding the sausage into the excluder tube though!

These pictures show some of the old buttons and bits of left over braid trim I used to decorate the draught excluder’s.

This patchwork design can easily be adapted to use any small pieces of fabric and filled with a variety of fillings. It would look great in patches cut from your children’s treasured but out grown  clothes, your well-loved jeans or from pieces found in the remnant bins in most fabric shops.  It would also work well for a long feature cushion on a bed. Happy patching!

I hope you enjoyed this post! If you did then please drop us a comment as it’s the only feedback us bloggers get! Also, make sure you follow our blog to be updated on our new ‘how-to’ posts! Thank you 🙂 x


3 responses »

  1. Hiya Crafty Love – great to see my article here. I’ve just received a lovely comment on my Facebook page from Linda in Spain who has already read this blog post. Anyone else who want to get in touch, please do, it will be great to hear from you – I’d love to share ideas and find out what you are doing too.

    Reply
  2. love this idea especially as long tube cushions, brilliant idea to use lumpy pillows and old duvets as stuffing.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

